Edwin Garcia

Contributing Writer

This is Edwin Garcia’s bio, in his own words:

Edwin Garcia 1My name is Edwin Garcia and I am 58 years old. I am from Puerto Rico. My conditional release date is October 2018. I am in jail for a combined sentence of 20 to 40 years; I’ve been incarcerated for 23 so far. My hobbies include reading, writing, and helping others with legal matters. I am a baseball fan and I like gardening. I like to one day open a paralegal/private investigators business. I would also like to be appointed to the Commission of Corrections.

I grew up in the outskirts of Aguadilla, Puerto Rico. My family was “campesinos,” which means “peasants” in Spanish. I am proud of this because despite being very poor, we were very happy. We are raised by our mother who instilled in us a sense of empathy for our fellow human beings. She was a good soul who brought good to all her children.

I used to live in the Hudson Valley. Upon release, I will live in New York City. Have a law-enforcement background, so I have been entangled in the criminal justice system for the last 35 years of my life. My views on the subject are somewhat unique in that I’ve lived on both sides of the issue.


Edwin Garcia, a former New York State Police Officer, is serving 20-40 years for the armed robbery of a jewelry store.

We send comments to our writers on a weekly basis, but if you’d like to contact this author directly, please write:

Edwin Garcia, 92A9233
Shawangunk Corr. Facility
P.0. Box 700
Wallkill, N.Y. 12589

Posts by Edwin Garcia: